Go Back   Puerto Rico Discussion Forum > Society > Government & Legal Information
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

What year did Puerto Rico gain it's independence?

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 4.00 average. Display Modes
Old 6th December 1999, 17:16

ryanmm37
What year did Puerto Rico gain it's independence? I am doing a Spanish project on Puerto Rico and I know it was July 25, I just can't find the year.

Please help me
Old 6th December 1999, 18:23

ABEJORRO
Independence from where? PR has never been independent from Spain or the US on the contrary it will soon some day be a full STATE!
PUERTO RICO 51!!!!!!!
Old 7th December 1999, 14:01

ryanmm37
thank you
my fault
didn't think about that one
Old 8th December 1999, 00:22

coqui4u
ryanmm37,

I graduated from High School several years ago, but I can tell you this, ABEJORRO doesn't know what he's talking about.
**In 1868 "Grito de Lares" where hundreds of men and women in P.R. revolted against Spain for P.R's independence.
**On September 29, 1898 P.R. was ceded to the U.S. after the Spanish American War
In 1916 P.R's were naturalized and given the American Citizenship under the Jones Act.
**On March 2, 1917 the Jones Act was signed by President Woodrow Wilson and P.R. became a territory of the U.S. On July 6, of the same year the first elections were held under the Jones Act.

***And we celebrate July 25th, because on July 25th, 1952 a new constitution was approved by P.R.'s voters in a referendum in March, and Puerto Rico was proclaimed as "Commonwealth of Puerto Rico" that's the answer to your question, becoming a state has nothing to do with what you asked. ABEJORRO get with the program and stop dreaming, you have to pay taxes before you can become a state, when you are ready to pay federal taxes then we can talk about statehood !
Ryanmm37, by the way you can visit the following URL: www.welcome.topuertorico.org/history.html