Go Back   Puerto Rico Discussion Forum > Open Board > Open Board
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

The Collapse of the World Trade Center Towers

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24th September 2001, 06:54

hipo
Since I am a Civil Engineer, many of my friends keep asking me questions about the WTC building collapse. I thought it would be interesting to post some facts about this matter. This is taken from the Americans Society of Civil Engineers public information department.

The Collapse of the World Trade Center Towers
Frequently Asked Questions

1. Why didn't the towers collapse upon impact?

The towers did not collapse upon impact because they were originally designed to withstand enormous loads. The impact of the aircraft did not take the buildings down. In fact one tower stood for about an hour after it was hit and the other stood for an hour and forty-five minutes after impact.

When engineers design a building they calculate the loads and forces to which a building will be subjected over its lifetime. Typically, these include the effects of hurricanes, blizzards, floods, or earthquakes. These events are far from common. For a hurricane, the loads used by the structural engineering profession are those from a hurricane that has only a two percent chance of occurring in a year.

For New York City this means structural engineers design buildings that can withstand winds gusting up to 100 mph, possibly coming from multiple directions, and lasting for hours as the hurricane passes. This approach to structural design produces tremendously strong buildings. Nevertheless, structural engineers are constantly striving to improve their ability to predict the loads their structures must withstand.

The forces from the impact of the airliners alone did not collapse the towers because those forces, as extreme as they were, did not exceed the capacity of the overall structural system.