Go Back   Puerto Rico Discussion Forum > Society > Politics
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Did you know the Congress said no to State hood?

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15th March 2000, 21:25

Mike_Coordero
Send a message via ICQ to Mike_Coordero
Cool

Now, I know I read this some place but I was surprise to hear it from someone who is going to law school that congress had vote no to statehood. If this is so, why is the statehood party still fighting for this? If they say no to statehood than they have to give us our freedom, right? Maybe they still waiting for PR to vote on it. What do you think?
Old 16th March 2000, 01:46

la_nena_2001
Talking

I am a law student my self and I have to say that you might be right. Congress is probably waiting for the poeples choice, but you nkow what the problem is ? Its not that that they are voting against statehood, remeber that they are giving P.R. two choices either give them their freedom or incorporate them as the satate 51. The funny thing about all this is that this negative vote from the Congress that you are talking about is not about denying statehood is about refusing to do something that is no unanimus by the puertorricans and all this thanks to the brainwasherers that P.R. has as politicians. Remember that the last "plebicito" where everybody had their own way to understand the results and everybody was a winner, is a living proof of what I am saying. When Rosello went to the Congress he was no denyied satehood because the congress decide to, it was because the results were not clear or actually incoclusive. Do some reaserch for the next time.......
Old 16th March 2000, 05:01

Mike_Coordero
Cool