Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• any suggestions?

Hello everybody-
    I was wondering if anyone has any advice for me. I am a college student who was thinking about majoring in spanish, but there is one problem. I can write spanish and think spanish, but my speech isn't as good as I hoped. Any advice for how to overcome this? I have been practicing my speech, but I have a hard time putting into words what I want to say. Any advice would be much appreciated... thanks!

Una sola forma

Joven, Solo hay una forma de aprender bien el castellano, y eso es "brincarte" baby. Tiene que brincar pa'dentro, as some fo my neighbors would say. Either take a year of your college in Spain, or spend a summer somewhere in a Spanish speaking country where you will not run into gringo tourists, and get out and learn. Now, programs that I know. THe Universidad Inter-Americana in San German has summer programs, and that is the BEST part of the island, BUT, too many gringos have discovered Southwest Puerto RIco, so if you're not careful, you could waste your time hanging around their nightspots. Costa Rica used to have summer language programs, as did Guatemala. Antigua, Guatemala was always popular, but many schools moved away because there were so many tourists in Antigua it detracted from learning. Cuernavaca, Mexico, has a lot of Spanish schools that specialize in total immersion summer courses, but again, lots of tourists and cheap tequila can ruin your plan (if not your mornings after). Ecuador would be great, but the poltiical and economic situations have been hard lately. Arequipa, Peru, great, but probably too far.

Considering all the costs of travel, and the safety factors (AVOID Colombia), you may be better off looking for something in Spain. Check out La Universidad de Salamanca to see if they have summer programs. DON'T SIGN UP FOR SPANISH. SIGN UP FOR CLASSES IN YOUR FIELD. THAT WAY YOU WILL BE FORCED TO SPEAK AND LEARN.