Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Child Support When They Go To College

Hi

I have 2 kids ( or adults) that I pay child support in Puerto Rico- Ages 20 and 21- They both are going to College and i have been paying child support with no delays for 15 years-

My question is this-

At what age does it stop if they go to college? When they finish a BD or when they turn 24 or 25 which ever is the correct age?

Any help is appreciated
    Jose

Child Support and College Education

Originally posted by papote46 View Post
    Hi

I have 2 kids ( or adults) that I pay child support in Puerto Rico- Ages 20 and 21- They both are going to College and i have been paying child support with no delays for 15 years-

My question is this-

At what age does it stop if they go to college? When they finish a BD or when they turn 24 or 25 which ever is the correct age?

Any help is appreciated
    Jose

I believe that most courts have established that Educational Support shall continue until the child is finish with a four year degree, which can be as late as age 22 or 23; CHILD SUPPORT can also continue as the child is still in need of support when at home. At least in NJ, this is the policy that is followed. Unless the child is emancipated or has a child of his own, it is very expensive and difficult to challenge Educational Support

Comment

Thanks!

Basically is the same in Puerto Rico but until age 24 or 25- And yes, could continue if the child has a need and can't support themselves which is not my case.

Thanks
      Jose

Comment

There may be some case law