ukraine.com

Tag: taino

  • La Montaňa (Central)

    Utuado

    Utuado was established on 12 October 1739. It was founded by Sebastian de Morfi and the name of the city was derived from Chief Otoao, whose name meant “Between Mountains”. The name is rather fitting since Utuado is situated in the Central Mountain Range of Puerto Rico near Ponce, Ciales, Arecibo and Lares. Between the late 1500’s and 1700’s not much of this city’s history was recorded, but ...

  • Eastern Region

    Loiza

    Nowhere in Puerto Rico is there a more cultural and traditional destination than Loiza. It is a town that was neglected for many years, but as tourists began to discover the rich heritage and hypnotic atmosphere of Loiza, this destination in Puerto Rico began to enjoy a new lease on life. Although many residents of Loiza live in poverty, their untamed spirit for life and their appreciation ...

  • Eastern Region

    Maunabo

    If you travel to the southeastern coast of Puerto Rico you may well find yourself enchanted by the small town of Maunabo. This delightful city was founded in 1799. Named for the Taino Indian named river ‘Maunatabon’, Maunabo is an absolutely delightful part of the island that every tourist should visit at least once.

  • Porta Caribe (South)

    Coamo

    Founded on 15 July 1570, Coamo is one of the oldest settlements in Puerto Rico. By the year 1582, twenty families had established themselves in the city, which was then known as San Blas de Illescas, and it received its status as a town by 1616. Today the city is 200 square kilometers in size and its population is estimated to be have around 37 500 people. The Taíno Indians used to bathe in ...

  • La Montaňa (Central)

    Cayey

    The city of Cayey was founded by Juan Mata Vazquez on 17 August 1773. The Taíno Indians had named the city “Cayey de Muesas”, which means "Place of Waters". Cayey was therefore derived from its original name. Two other locally known names for Cayey are "La Ciudad del Torito", meaning "Town of the Little Bull"; and "La Cuidad le las Brumas", which means "City of the Fog". This spectacular ...

  • Eastern Region

    Canovanas

    The town of Canovanas is known by three different names to locals. It is often referred to as "La Cuna de los Indios", meaning "Indian Cradle". This is because of the large population of Indian and African slaves that arrived and settled here. The second name, "La Ciudad de las Carreras", means "Race Horse Town". Since 1972, Canovanas has been home to the only horse racetrack in Puerto Rico, ...

  • Northern Region

    Camuy

    The city of Camuy has two nicknames, "La Ciudad del Sol Taino", which means the “City of the Taíno Sun”, or "La Ciudad Romantica" meaning “Romantic City”. It is said the city’s name was derived from the Taíno word for sun, which is Camuy. Others believe that it was named after the Camuy River. No matter how the name originated, one thing is for certain - it is a breathtaking city. The ...

  • Porta del Sol (West)

    Hormigueros

    Lying in the west of Puerto Rico is Hormigueros. This interesting destination covers and area of 29 km sq and is home to over 17 000 individuals. Made up of 5 wards, Hormigueros has much to offer visitors. Also known as “El Pueblo del Milagro” (which means “town of the miracle”), Hormigueros is a great destination and well worth a visit.

  • Porta del Sol (West)

    Aguada

    On the western side of the island of Puerto Rico lies a little village known as ‘Aguada’. The city was founded sometime between 1508 and 1510 by Cristobal de Sotomayor and as such, is often called ‘La Villa de Sotomayor’ (Sotomayor’s village) by the locals. Aguada is commonly thought to be one of the oldest towns on the island and there have been many unfounded claims that it was here that ...

  • Reference

    History

    The island of Puerto Rico was first discovered by the famed Christopher Columbus. He found it quite by accident while looking for land to rest on and get new supplies of fruit and water. The crew walked onto the island on 19 November 1493. Christopher Columbus named the island San Juan Bautista. No-one came back to island for many years, but fifteen years later Juan Ponce de Leon would bring ...